Kickstarter Commissions Rolling Right Along

Hey everybody. Just a quick one this time. Along with everything else that’s going on, I’m diligently working on the commissions that certain backers of my Kickstarter get. I want to get them finished in time to ship them with the books (which should arrive in the next couple months). So, While I don’t have a lot of time to make process posts, here’s a quick rundown of the latest one I did.

ScaredScout_Process_VinceDorse

It’s Scout. One of the stars of my book. And, as usual, he’s nervous about something. The fact that he’s quick-to-panic is a big part of his personality and character. And that’s exactly what this particular backer wanted. A good, old-fashioned, scared Scout.

ScaredScout_Process_VinceDorse

So here we go. Pencils on Bristol Board.

ScaredScout_Process_VinceDorse

I’m using those Sakura Pigma brush pens I’ve been fiddling around with lately. Really like the control and variable-width line I get with those.

ScaredScout_Process_VinceDorse

All done inking. Time for color.

ScaredScout_Process_VinceDorse

He may seem white, surrounded by all that color in the comic, but Scout’s not white. He’s kind of a very light cream color with warm brown markings. I’m using a Utrecht marker I like for the base color, but most of this will be finished with Copic Markers.

ScaredScout_Process_VinceDorse

So there’s Scout’s markings and shadows, done with Copic Sketch Markers. I like those brush tips. Not much left to do here….color in the mouth area, text, and grass.

ScaredScout_Process_VinceDorse

Not sure my phone camera captures color very accurately, but here’s Scout — all finished and ready to run from trouble. When I start sending out Untold Tales of Bigfoot: Crossing Paths to backers in a couple months, he’ll be packed into the envelope with the book. So. Another one down. But I have more to go. Better get to work. -v

2 Responses

  1. Great to see the development of a drawing. Good luck with the others.

    • Thanks. It’s a pretty simple image, not too many crazy details, so I figured I’d just snap a few pics and do a quick post. Just something fun to keep the posts flowing. Glad you liked it! -v

Leave a Reply

