Haunted Mansion’s Hatbox Ghost, natural media process

What with all the digital inking and coloring I do, I wanted to get back in the groove with my tech pens and markers. The Hatbox Ghost seemed like a fun thing to practice with.

HatboxGhost_standingDown below you see the rough pencils that I sketched. Going old school, I light boxed those onto a piece of Bristol with a 4H pencil. The lines ended up too light to scan, actually, otherwise you’d see an image of the refined pencils here.

The inks were done with Pitt Artist Pens, and a Pitt Brush Pen. I’m working my way back to my old trusty traditional ink brush, but it’s been a long time, so the brush pen will be my transitional tool.
Hatbox Ghost by Vince Dorse, pencils and inksAt the top of the post you can see the finished art. After the inks were done I put down some tones with Copic Markers. I liked the way it came out, so I dug around my old mat blanks and found a couple pieces of board to mat it with. Also, for fun, I played around with drawing the ghost’s head in the hatbox (inspired by the original animatronic effect). I’ll have to figure out a clever way of framing it so that I can blast light through it and reveal the boxed head.-v

Hatbox Ghost by Vince Dorse, matted with light

 

2 Responses

  1. Cool! You can mount the artwork in a shadowbox and I think there should be enough room in there for a light set-up. Maybe some LEDs because you don’t want to ruin it with incandescent bulbs.

  2. First, genius idea with the LEDs, Joseph. You’re exactly right. And the shadowbox idea is great too. Dang it! I wish I’d known someone would come along with all these great suggestions then I’d have taken more time on the stinkin’ drawing! Thanks! -v

Leave a Reply

